EXPLAINER: Minnesota enhanced driver's licenses - KMSP-TV

EXPLAINER: Minnesota enhanced driver's licenses

Posted: Updated:

Minnesotans can now apply for enhanced driver's licenses (EDL) or identification cards (EID) and wouldn't need a passport to re-enter the U.S. from Canada, Bermuda, Mexico and the Caribbean.

Minnesota is now the 5th state to accept the enhanced cards along with Michigan, New York, Vermont and Washington.


Fourteen DVS exam stations can accept EDL and EID applications: Anoka, Arden Hills, Austin, Bemidji, Detroit Lakes, Duluth, Eagan, Hastings, Mankato, Plymouth, Rochester, St. Cloud, St. Paul and Virginia.

DVS Office Locations

To apply, you must be:

- A Minnesota resident
- A U.S. citizen
- At least 16 years of age

Licenses and IDs will take 2 to 4 weeks to process. The first cards will be in use after Feb. 17, 2014.


The enhanced license or ID card is accepted by border patrol agents at land and sea entry ports. Agents then verify cardholder identity and citizenship through the Radio Frequency Identification (RFID) technology in an EDL or EID. RFIDs do not store personal information, but point to the information to a Department of Homeland Security database. The RFID will only work within a certain distance of an RFID scanning device at land and sea entry ports. No additional proof of identity is required.

Powered by WorldNow

11358 Viking Drive
Eden Prairie, MN 55344

Phone: (952) 944-9999
Fax: (952) 942-0455

Didn't find what you were looking for?
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 Fox Television Stations, Inc. and Worldnow. All Rights Reserved.
Privacy Policy | New Terms of Service What's new | Ad Choices