Jack Morris won't make it to Cooperstown...yet - KMSP-TV

Jack Morris fails to gain Baseball Hall of Fame entrance

Posted: Updated:

Jack Morris, who arguably pitched in, and won, the greatest Game 7 in the history of Major League Baseball, was denied entrance into the Baseball Hall of Fame by the Baseball Writers Association of America for the 15th and final time.

Players need 75 percent of the votes to enter the hall and a year after picking up 67.7 percent. Morris finished sixth in the vote but slipped to 61.5 percent this year.

The St. Paul native must now wait at least three years when a veterans committee can consider his candidacy, an Expansion Era election to take place in 2017. Many former players are among voters in that election and Morris may make the cut.

The voters selected three former players to join managers Tony Larussa, Bobby Cox and Joe Torre in Cooperstown. Braves teammates Greg Maddux and Tom Glavine along with slugger Frank Thomas were all first ballot Hall of Famers. Maddux was chosen on 97.2 percent of the 571 ballots cast while Glavine received 91.1 percent. Thomas picked up 83.7 percent of the vote. 

Craig Biggio missed by 2 votes, even after tallying over 3,000 career hits.

Morris, now 58, played mainly for the Detroit Tigers and won 254 games throughout his 18-year career. He signed a one-year contract with the Twins in 1991 where he posted 18 wins while Minnesota took on the Atlanta Braves in the World Series. He holds the record for most wins by a Twin in one postseason -- 4 total that year.

METRODOME MEMORY: Black Jack Morris deals Twins to 2nd World Series Championship

Morris now announces Blue Jays games.


Greg Maddux- 555
Tom Glavine- 525
Frank Thomas- 478

Craigh Biggio- 427
Mike Piazza- 355
Jack Morris- 351
Jeff Bagwell- 310
Tim Raines- 263
Roger Clement- 202
Barry Bonds- 198
Lee Smith- 171
Curt Schilling- 167
Edgar Martinez- 144
Alan Trammel- 119
Mike Mussina- 116
Jeff Kent- 87
Fred McGriff- 67
Mark McGwire- 63
Larry Walker- 58
Don Mattingly- 47
Sammy Sosa- 41

Fewer than 5% of the vote:
Rafael Palmeiro- 25
Moises Alou- 6
Hideo Nomo- 6
Luis Gonzalez- 5
Eric Gagne- 2
J.T. Snow- 2
Armando Benitez- 1
Jacque Jones- 1
Kenny Rogers- 1
Sean Casey- 0
Ray Durham- 0
Todd Jones- 0
Paul Lo Duca- 0
Richie Sexson- 0
Mike Timlin -0

Those receiving less than 5% of the vote are no longer eligible for election.

Powered by WorldNow

11358 Viking Drive
Eden Prairie, MN 55344

Phone: (952) 944-9999
Fax: (952) 942-0455

Didn't find what you were looking for?
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 Fox Television Stations, Inc. and Worldnow. All Rights Reserved.
Privacy Policy | New Terms of Service What's new | Ad Choices