Minnesota Vikings draft history - KMSP-TV


Minnesota Vikings draft history

Posted: Updated:

In the history of the Minnesota Vikings the franchise has made 50 first round selections. Of those 50, 25 have been offensive players and 25 defensive players. Of all positions, the team has picked a defensive end 11 times with running back a close second with 10.

First round by position:

Defensive End- 11 (James; Udeze; Underwood; Clemons; Alexander; Robinson; Doleman; Martin; Holloway; Mullaney; Eller)

Running Back- 10 (Peterson; Bennett; Smith; Dozier; Nelson; Brown; Foreman; Hayden; Jones; Mason)

Defensive Tackle- 7 (Williams; Hovan; Millard; White; Page; Shay; Dunaway)

Tackle- 6 (Kalil; McKinnie; Stringer; McDaniel; Ward; Yary)

Wide Receiver- 5 (Harvin; Williamson; Moss; Washington; Snow)

Linebacker- 4 (Greenway; Rudd; McNeill; Siemon)

Quarterback- 3 (Ponder; Culpepper; Kramer)

Safety- 2 (Smith; Browner)

Cornerback- 1 (Washington)

Guard- 1 (Steussie)

First round selections in Vikings history:

2012- Matt Kalil (T); Harrison Smith (S)

2011- Christian Ponder (QB)

2010- No first round selection

2009- Percy Harvin (WR)

2008- No first round selection

2007- Adrian Peterson (RB)

2006- Chad Greenway (LB)

2005- Troy Williamson (WR)

2005- Erasmus James (DE)

2004- Kenechi Udeze (DE)

2003- Kevin Williams (DT)

2002- Bryant McKinnie (T)

2001- Michael Bennett (RB)

2000- Chris Hovan (DT)

1999- Daunte Culpepper (QB); Dimitrius Underwood (DE)

1998- Randy Moss (WR)

1997- Dwayne Rudd (LB)

1996- Duane Clemons (DE)

1995- Derrick Alexander (DE/DT); Korey Stringer (T)

1994- Dewayne Washington (CB); Todd Steussie (G)

1993- Robert Smith (RB)

1992- No first round selection

1991- No first round selection

1990- No first round selection

1989- No first round selection

1988- Randall McDaniel (T)

1987- DJ Dozier (RB)

1986- Gerald Robinson (DE)

1985- Chris Doleman (DE)

1984- Keith Millard (DT)

1983- Joey Browner (S)

1982- Darrin Nelson (RB)

1981- No first round selection

1980- Doug Martin (DE)

1979- Ted Brown (RB)

1978- Randy Holloway (DE)

1977- Tommy Kramer (QB)

1976- James White (DT)

1975- Mark Mullaney (DE)

1974- Fred McNeill (LB)

1973- Chuck Foreman (RB)

1972- Jeff Siemon (LB)

1971- Leo Hayden (RB)

1970- John Ward (T)

1969- No first round selection

1968- Ron Yary (T)

1967- Clinton Jones (RB); Gene Washington (WR); Alan Page (DT)

1966- Jerry Shay (DT)

1965- Jack Snow (WR)

1964- Carl Eller (DE)

1963- Jim Dunaway (DT)

1962- No first round selection

1961- Tommy Mason (RB)

Powered by WorldNow

11358 Viking Drive
Eden Prairie, MN 55344

Phone: (952) 944-9999
Fax: (952) 942-0455

Didn't find what you were looking for?
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 Fox Television Stations, Inc. and Worldnow. All Rights Reserved.
Privacy Policy | New Terms of Service What's new | Ad Choices