Edina Hornets celebrate 8th hockey title - KMSP-TV

Boys Hockey

Edina Hornets celebrate 8th hockey title

Posted: Updated:
Josh Pemble/MNSO Josh Pemble/MNSO

Edina might as well change their name to title town. The Hornets captured their eighth championship Saturday night with a 4-2 win over No. 1 seed Hill-Murray.

Cullen Munson scored a pair of goals while Dylan Malmquist and Anthony Walsh each scored a goal in the win. The Pioneers jumped on the board first when Josh French scored the first of his two goals in the game.

The lead was short lived as a little over two minutes later Malmquist scored to tie the game, then Munson tallied at 11:56 of the period to take the lead. Munson scored 2:11 into the second period to give the Hornets a commanding lead and another championship to Edina.

The Hornets won championships in 1969, 1971, 1982, 1984, 1988, 1997 and 2010. They also won championships in 1974, 1978 and 1979 as Edina East.

Powered by WorldNow

11358 Viking Drive
Eden Prairie, MN 55344

Phone: (952) 944-9999
Fax: (952) 942-0455

Didn't find what you were looking for?
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 Fox Television Stations, Inc. and Worldnow. All Rights Reserved.
Privacy Policy | New Terms of Service What's new | Ad Choices