Let's Play Hockey's Ms. Hockey Top 10 - KMSP-TV

Let's Play Hockey's Ms. Hockey Top 10

Posted: Updated:

Let's Play Hockey announced today the 10 semifinalists for the 2013 Ms. Hockey Award, which will be presented to the top senior girls' high school hockey player in Minnesota.

Laura BowmanFMinnetonka23231740Penn State
Dani CameranesiFBlake20452873Minnesota
Kate FlugFRoseville23262248Minnesota
Kayla GardnerFWarroad23323769North Dakota
Paige HaleyDRed Wing23173754Minnesota
Lisa MarvinFWarroad23244670North Dakota
Amy MenkeFShakopee22381755North Dakota
Sidney MorinDMinnetonka1841418Minnesota
Kate SchipperFBreck20202545Minnesota
Megan WolfeFEagan18231740Minnesota

All 10 players named as semifinalists are committed to a Division I school for next season, including nine in the WCHA. The semifinalists have scored an average of 25 goals and 26 assists this season for their respective teams. All 10 players have been bound to the textbooks for the past several years as they check in with a cumulative grade-point average of 3.57.

The five finalists for the Ms. Hockey Award will be named in the Feb. 14 edition of Let's Play Hockey with the winner announced at the Ms. Hockey Awards Banquet on Sunday, Feb. 24, at 11:30 a.m., at the St. Paul RiverCentre. The 10 semifinalists for the Let's Play Hockey Senior Goalie of the Year Award were also announced today. The five finalists for the Senior Goalie of the Year Award will be named in the Feb. 7 edition of Let's Play Hockey. Both awards are sponsored by Let's Play Hockey, the Minnesota Wild and Shock Doctor.

In addition to on-ice talent, criteria for the Ms. Hockey Award include academics, community/extracurricular activities, citizenship and coachability. Past winners: 2012 Hannah Brandt (Hill-Murray), 2011 Karley Sylvester (Warroad), 2010 Bethany Brausen (Roseville), 2009 Becky Kortum (Hopkins), 2008 Sarah Erickson (Bemidji), 2007 Katharine Chute (Blake), 2006 Allie Thunstrom (North St. Paul), 2005 Gigi Marvin (Warroad), 2004 Erica McKenzie (Hastings), 2003 Andrea Nichols (Hibbing/Chisholm), 2002 Ashley Albrecht (South St. Paul), 2001 Renee Curtin (Roseville), 2000 Krissy Wendell (Park Center), 1999 Ronda Curtin (Roseville), 1998 Laura Slominski (Burnsville), 1997 Annamarie Holmes (Apple Valley), 1996 Winny Brodt (Roseville).

Other awards that will be presented at the banquet include the Let's Play Hockey Senior Goalie of the Year Award, which goes to the top senior goalie in girls' high school hockey, as well as the Minnesota Girls High School Hockey Coaches Association's Coaches of the Year, and All-State and All-Academic Award winners for the 2012-13 season.

Powered by WorldNow

11358 Viking Drive
Eden Prairie, MN 55344

Phone: (952) 944-9999
Fax: (952) 942-0455

Didn't find what you were looking for?
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 Fox Television Stations, Inc. and Worldnow. All Rights Reserved.
Privacy Policy | New Terms of Service What's new | Ad Choices